WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » [CLOSED] docker and whatpulse Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CLOSED] docker and whatpulse
07-17-2015, 09:59 AM (This post was last modified: 02-27-2017 05:28 PM by smitmartijn.)
Post: #1
[CLOSED] docker and whatpulse
So I have had this problem for a while now..

It seems whatpulse gets completely confused when I start to build docker images/containers.

Whatpulse will crash, I will try and kill it but it just goes to a zombie process.

I have looked and it seems to hogging the crap out of ksoftirqd. So it seems to be interrupt requests.

Has anyone else had this?

prime example of this is as I write this post.

1.7 GiB + 2.1 GiB = 3.7 GiB whatpulse

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES %CPU %MEM TIME+ S COMMAND
3 root 20 0 0.0m 0.0m 44.0 0.0 1:33.39 S ksoftirqd/0
16986 ben 9 -11 611.8m 11.7m 18.7 0.1 0:13.96 S pulseaudio
14 root 20 0 0.0m 0.0m 14.7 0.0 0:34.19 S ksoftirqd/1

here is a strace of whatpulse

https://gist.github.com/81d1fdde737d608f6e72
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-17-2015, 06:46 PM
Post: #2
RE: docker and whatpulse
Hi,

The only thing I can think of is that the client does not like the docker0 virtual interface. Could you try to turn off network stats and see if that fixes it?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 12:02 PM
Post: #3
RE: docker and whatpulse
I tried to ignore the docker adapter, but still caused the same problem and had to restart.

Now gone to settings and disabled network stats fully.

Is it possible to get this fixed Sad It seems quite a major bug!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 02:10 PM
Post: #4
RE: docker and whatpulse
nope, evening ignoring causes problems

627.6 MiB + 1.9 GiB = 2.5 GiB whatpulse
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 05:39 PM
Post: #5
RE: docker and whatpulse
I don't think ignoring would fix it as I assume the docker0 interface would create virtual interfaces for each container. Those virtual interfaces are probably the ones that the client can't handle.

Could you confirm disabling the network counter completely stops the client from crashing when you run docker?

If so, you might want to leave it disabled when you work with it for now. I've put it on the todo, it might be an easy fix, it might not be.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2015, 09:25 AM
Post: #6
RE: docker and whatpulse
I have disabled network counter but it still causes whatpulse to have huge memory problems + locks up my system.

For now I am not running whatpulse when doing docker work (which currently is most days Sad )
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2015, 11:33 AM
Post: #7
RE: docker and whatpulse
okay disabling network stats does seem to make a difference, I had to do a reboot.

I had same problem on my laptop too, so had to disable stats on that as well
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2015, 04:54 PM
Post: #8
RE: docker and whatpulse
Great, thanks for the feedback. I'll put that in the help center for the time being.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2015, 12:46 PM
Post: #9
RE: docker and whatpulse
when do you think you'll get a fix for this??

This is a real major bug for me, as I want to track my whatpulse stuff still...

It keeps messing up my machine. If it disable/enable network, you *have* to reboot, otherwise it just causes crazy irq requests and sucks all your memory Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2015, 01:36 PM
Post: #10
RE: docker and whatpulse
Not sure, the todo list is pretty long with more stuff with a higher priority then this one, as you are maybe 1 of 5 users who use this on their local machine. Not that you get anything from this answer, but I can't give a proper one.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Updating from jessie to buster breaks whatpulse [GoT]Jewest 1 97 09-30-2019 06:39 AM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  Server error: Missing input! with whatpulse 2.8.4 on Win10 Franck.Dernoncourt 3 449 09-24-2019 10:56 PM
Last Post: kolah
  Whatpulse crash [GoT]Jewest 2 105 09-20-2019 09:22 AM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  Whatpulse isn't running after upgrading Ubuntu 1geeky 0 162 08-06-2019 05:46 AM
Last Post: 1geeky
  WhatPulse 64bit install on Lubuntu 19.04 SiKTheGreatOne 0 291 06-30-2019 02:49 AM
Last Post: SiKTheGreatOne
  WhatPulse not opening on Manjaro Linux (Arch distro) tboxley 4 679 05-26-2019 11:30 AM
Last Post: FamilienVater
  Whatpulse won't start, Unable to install crashRpt! Bai.Bing 0 275 05-24-2019 01:02 PM
Last Post: Bai.Bing
  Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic Lodisen 8 916 05-22-2019 05:35 PM
Last Post: Trapton
Exclamation giving pcap permissions breaks whatpulse ajencks1 0 366 04-18-2019 01:08 AM
Last Post: ajencks1
  [Edited] Whatpulse does not work with libssl-dev 1.1.0 jhepburn 4 3,670 03-07-2017 11:11 PM
Last Post: swissboney3

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)