WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Keyboard use doesn't count on mac Welcome back, Guest.


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
10-08-2013, 04:06 AM
Post: #1
Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
I have a MacBookPro early 2011 model running mountian lion and the only keys what pulse records is shift, control, option, and command. Is there a fix for this?
Find all posts by this user
11-14-2013, 06:06 PM
Post: #2
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
(10-08-2013 04:06 AM)kiln1765 Wrote:  I have a MacBookPro early 2011 model running mountian lion and the only keys what pulse records is shift, control, option, and command. Is there a fix for this?

I am having this exact problem -- mid 2011 model, not running Mavericks, and I tried to do some forum looking to search to see if anybody else has had this issue, but to no avail.

275+ views and no replies, OP. you are not alone.

Huh

For a while, I had been running on the wrong WhatPulse client (every time I tried to Pulse, it would just crash completely with no error message whatsoever, so I hadn't even bothered to mess with it for a few months) but after updating it to 2.2.1, the *only* keys it seems to be registering are shift, control, command, etc.

It is literally the middle of NaNoWriMo right now, and practically none of my keys have been logged. :"D I cannot.

I'm not even mad or anything, I'm just trying to figure out what's going on and/or ride it out until 2.2.2 gets released.

.____.;
Find all posts by this user
11-15-2013, 09:39 AM
Post: #3
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
Just a quick one... Have you tried going to System Prefs. -> Accessibility -> Enable Access for Assistive Devices? I run Mavericks (free from App Store) and WhatPulse logs my keystrokes properly. (The procedure there is different... System Prefs. -> Security & Privacy -> Privacy -> Accessibility and check WhatPulse)
Find all posts by this user
11-15-2013, 11:10 AM
Post: #4
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
I've a similar problem where it does not record certain keys such as the number nine, which is the only one as far, as I've seen, that doesn't work. I have tried what classicmachintosh suggested when the application first updated.
Find all posts by this user
11-15-2013, 07:58 PM
Post: #5
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
(11-15-2013 11:10 AM)Tastidian Wrote:  I've a similar problem where it does not record certain keys such as the number nine, which is the only one as far, as I've seen, that doesn't work.

And this is what the 2.3 (or previously 2.2.2) says:

- OS X: Fix catching keys 9, ~ and caps lock

So it's not an issue anymore. ;-)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
11-20-2013, 09:50 AM
Post: #6
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
(11-15-2013 07:58 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  
(11-15-2013 11:10 AM)Tastidian Wrote:  I've a similar problem where it does not record certain keys such as the number nine, which is the only one as far, as I've seen, that doesn't work.

And this is what the 2.3 (or previously 2.2.2) says:

- OS X: Fix catching keys 9, ~ and caps lock

So it's not an issue anymore. ;-)

But seems that 2.3 hasn't released yet?
Find all posts by this user
11-20-2013, 05:38 PM
Post: #7
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
(11-20-2013 09:50 AM)olsArthur Wrote:  But seems that 2.3 hasn't released yet?

It's out there, but not GA correct. Was just letting you know it is a known issue and that it has ben addressed.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
11-28-2013, 09:04 AM (This post was last modified: 11-28-2013 09:10 AM by rwong48.)
Post: #8
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
Seeing this now with 2.3. Weirdly enough, it was working for me on 2.2.1. Disabled and enabled WhatPulse in Accessibility, no dice

Edit: ok, weird, it's working for me now. I did restart the app, but I saw that it was still not working after the restart.
Find all posts by this user
12-13-2013, 12:51 PM
Post: #9
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
Just updated to 2.3.1 and it's not counting any keys except for Modifers (options, shift, cmd, ctrl, etc).

Had this problem way back with a 2.2 Beta and Mavericks (10.9) but it was cleared up. Seems to be back (at least for me) with WP 2.3.1 and OS 10.9.

I've Enabled and Disabled the System Prefs -> Security & Privacy -> Privacy -> Accessibility setting several times and rebooted.
Find all posts by this user
12-13-2013, 06:41 PM
Post: #10
RE: Keyboard use doesn't count on mac
Apple is pretty strict when it comes to the 'Accessibility' options. When you upgrade, you need to re-enable the WhatPulse app for it to start working.

So; disable it in the Accessibility tab, save & exit, then enable it again. Not sure if it matters, but it's best to stop the client before you do so.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [SOLVED] Error uploading keyboard/mouse heatmap Wopian 2 562 03-17-2017 12:26 PM
Last Post: Wopian
  [FIXED] Keyboard heatmap color mix up d3ullist 1 658 06-24-2016 06:49 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  doesn't recognize keys Posergoth6667 1 855 05-09-2016 04:56 PM
Last Post: mupi
  [SOLVED] Problem with Logitech Keyboard Widget Mattie112 2 932 03-25-2016 07:29 PM
Last Post: Mattie112
  Downloading over 100 MB/s -> down counter doesn't increase Franck.Dernoncourt 2 1,204 02-06-2016 07:07 PM
Last Post: Franck.Dernoncourt
Question How can I count keys before keybindings(Karabiner)? kumamotone 0 746 12-22-2015 09:56 AM
Last Post: kumamotone
  [2.6.3] Automatic Pulsing hint doesn't update after ticking/changing uptime Wopian 0 892 11-07-2015 03:23 AM
Last Post: Wopian
  Doesn't start automatically Sleepyguy 2 1,026 10-23-2015 08:32 PM
Last Post: Sleepyguy
Bug Keyboard layout menu bug timothymh 0 760 10-05-2015 10:52 PM
Last Post: timothymh
  [SOLVED] Network Upload doesnt count Tony.LR 6 2,705 08-01-2015 05:38 PM
Last Post: Tony.LR

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)